top of page
  • Writer's pictureAdmin

a poem for a woman i did love

Updated: Apr 12, 2019

by Alizeh Sheikh ...................................................................................

years I have spent at this bus stop, gnawing

my concrete walls, for I fear that when I

get home I won’t be able to fold my

self in its embrace for I’ve spent too long

expanding myself to accommodate

you.


God motioned to break our fast with a date,

so there you settled, a pit at the pit

of my stomach, stripped of sweetness and flesh,

and I sensed your mass but did not feel you,

hard, dull, worn smooth by time, resting there was

you.


I convinced myself that I’d inhaled you,

that my heart throbbed, quivered, swelled for you,

but my life’s cadence surged abaft, leaving

entombed in soft panels your heavy essence

for I never lived for you, I stomached

you.


after a hundred years I beseech you

to exhume my amber, crystalline self

and rip apart my sweet, undulating

guts, and tumbling to the ground will be a

million polished stones; one of them is

you.


For God banished me to a bitter fate:

I am a vessel for those I did love,

I am a vessel for

you.

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page