top of page
  • Writer's pictureAdmin

Aftermath

By Carrie Wang

Winner of the 2019 Spring Poetry Competition

...................................................................................

In the third-floor domicile, we bathe in cheap vodka

and flurried acumen, patchwork knees latticing the

Irishman’s wooden bed frame, laughing hee-ha-hee

as the pretty-girl triumvirate with butter-colored smiles

clinks around plastic champagne glasses with cinched

curves like the city’s,


and I try not to

ruminate on

that other night, my

barbed wire fists fighting

flippant jellyfish fingers

clawing

flesh&hair,

my mouth a muted

echo chamber for

retrograde rationality—


Now Mary and May are crying into cups holding

glistering dirt, spiting the straw-haired boy and his damn

breadwinner ego while we slapstick heave hoo-hoot-hoo,

heads bouncing round like ruddy baubles, gummy eyeballs

creased over a plastic card game lettered sans serif:

snip-edged like me,


and I don’t want to

celebrate this

wilted year, caustic

charcoal still lodged in

throat by fusillade

demarcations of

me-then&me-now,

so I clamp down on

sawdust breath, simply

watch the rodeo—


and I take the whoops and the bim-bams as they

catapult like birds to the mattress, cobbling organs

into a scaffold of macerated bodies huddled away from

the frigid open window and


the morning it will soon spell

when tomorrow hangovers split foreheads

and they will feel with me that

ineffable longing for

whatever comes

after the aftermath

Critique

Overall, this is an excellent poem (it won our competition, after all!), so I’m just going to briefly cover what you did really well and then provide a couple of minor suggestions. 


You use language in a really effective way that endows the poem with strong cadential and visual elements. You’re able to extract a lot of perceptual elements out of the scene, producing something that feels visually and auditorily alive. You provide imagery that is both visceral and unique, and that clearly does not rely on language or phrases we hear often in the public sphere. This is something that is clearly your own, that differentiates your own voice from that of other writers. Well done! 


One aspect of your poem that I particularly enjoy is the contrast between the party and the assault scenes. These two sections differ sharply in tone, working together to simulate an experience that (I believe) a lot of women face but is often hard to “get at” as a writer. You do great work with this, but I’d recommend editing the second “blocked” stanza such that its connection with the first (the one about the assault) is made slightly more explicit. If you read this stanza by itself, it’s unclear what it’s referring to or what it’s talking about; "me-then&me-now” is pretty generalized and could apply to any number of experiences, so it would be best to tailor this stanza to the specific experience that you’re interested in writing about. When I first read the poem, I was unsure why this stanza was there, and its abstractness feels disjointed when the rest of the poem is so specific and visceral. 


Overall, your word choice is excellent, but some lines feel a bit clunky: 


1. 1st stanza, 2nd line: I’m not sure “acumen” works here


2. 2nd stanza (first blocked stanza), 5th line: “flippant jellyfish fingers” don’t seem very menacing or like they could “claw” very much at all


3.4th stanza (second blocked stanza), 8th line: “clamp down on sawdust breath” might be better as “sawdust tongue”

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page